Full background report
Stephen Motteram
Chief Financial Officer (listed by ASM; post-acquisition continuity not confirmed)
Career chronology
-
22 January 2024 to current per undated ASM management page; post-acquisition continuity unconfirmed: Australian Strategic Materials — Chief Financial Officer. Chief Financial Officer commencement (lines 3-8); Management Team (lines 18-21)
-
Before ASM appointment; dates not stated: Noble Group — Senior finance/commodities-trading role; exact title and dates not stated. Management Team (lines 20-21); ASM appoints Stephen Motteram as CFO (appointment announcement)
-
Before ASM appointment; dates not stated: National Australia Bank — Finance/banking role; exact title and dates not stated. Management Team (lines 20-21); ASM appoints Stephen Motteram as CFO (appointment announcement)
-
Prior/unspecified periods: Listed and unlisted natural-resources companies — Non-executive director positions; names not disclosed in the ASM biography. Management Team (lines 20-27)
Education and qualifications
CPA, AICD, MBA and BSc (Hons) reported
Undated · issuer reported · medium materiality
ASM reports CPA membership, AICD graduation, an MBA from Melbourne Business School and BSc (Hons) from the University of Melbourne. No award dates or independent credential verification were located.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. Credentials are reported by the issuer.
Relevance: Finance and governance credentials are relevant to the CFO role.
Management Team (lines 22-27); ASM appoints Stephen Motteram as CFO (appointment announcement)
Contributions and company outcomes
ASM completed an approximately A$16.6m placement and rights issue during his CFO tenure
June 2024 quarter · issuer reported · medium materiality
ASM’s June 2024 quarterly report says the company completed a placement and rights issue raising approximately A$16.6m. Motteram’s CFO commencement was 22 January 2024 after ASM corrected the original 29 January date. The sources establish role overlap, not his individual contribution or the terms’ long-run value.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. He was CFO during the capital raise; no specific individual role in execution or allocation is documented in the sources reviewed.
Relevance: Relevant to the finance and funding capability needed for Dubbo; the raise did not itself fund construction or establish project FID.
Quarterly Activities Report to 30 June 2024 (quarterly highlights, capital raising); Chief Financial Officer commencement (lines 3-8)
Suitability for the current role
Finance experience matches a project-finance and capital-raising remit
Before and during ASM CFO tenure · analyst inference · medium materiality
ASM reports more than 20 years in international banks and commodities trading firms, including Noble Group and National Australia Bank, with project development, capital raising, financial control, investment analysis, M&A and treasury experience. This is issuer-reported biography; exact prior role dates and third-party corroboration were not located.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. Career summary is published by ASM; prior role dates are not supplied.
Relevance: Experience is relevant to funding a capital-intensive project and financial controls.
Management Team (lines 18-21); ASM appoints Stephen Motteram as CFO (appointment announcement)
Evidence gaps
-
The issuer page is undated and still lists Motteram as CFO after the acquisition; no dated evidence confirming his role in Energy Fuels/ASM after 28 August 2026 was located.
-
The names, dates and scope of his prior natural-resources directorships are not given on the issuer profile.
-
No independent verification of prior employment or reported CPA, AICD, MBA or BSc credentials was completed.
-
Open web searches are not exhaustive criminal, sanctions, litigation or regulator checks.