Full background report
John Dorward
Executive Chairman
Career chronology
-
16 May 2024–cutoff: Ausgold Limited — Executive Chairman. Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 32 and 43; appointment 16 May 2024); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 15-17; retained as Executive Chairman in May 2026)
-
CEO from 2012; the issuer annual report says he led project construction and reached production during his tenure; exact start and end dates are not independently stated in the annual report.: Roxgold Inc. — President, Chief Executive Officer and Director. Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 32; career and Yaramoko production timing)
-
Before Newmont acquisition; exact dates not disclosed: Fronteer Gold — Vice President, Business Development. Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 32; Fronteer Gold career and Newmont transaction)
-
Earlier career; exact dates not disclosed: Bankwest / MPI Mines / Leviathan Resources — Project finance manager and senior mining/corporate roles. Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 32)
Education and qualifications
Education and professional qualification evidence
Qualifications as reported through cutoff · issuer reported · low materiality
BCom (Hons), Graduate Diploma Applied Finance & Investment, Graduate Diploma Chartered Secretaries Australia and CFA are listed in the FY2026 annual report; credential verification was not independently completed.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The listed qualifications are reported in issuer material or the identified secondary profile; no independent credential verification was completed.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to evaluating role fit and executive experience.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 32, qualifications and biography)
Contributions and company outcomes
Documented current-company outcome and attribution limit
FY2025–2026 / appointment period · issuer reported · medium materiality
At Roxgold, the issuer annual report says he led the team that built Yaramoko and reached production within four years after a maiden inferred resource; during his tenure Roxgold secured the Seguela project. The company-level IFC review during construction described E&S control plans still being completed, while reporting no significant incidents to that review date. Fronteer Gold was acquired by Newmont for US$2.3bn; the annual report says Dorward played a key negotiating role. Attribution remains issuer-reported.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Public materials document the company milestones and the person’s role or appointment, but do not establish sole individual causation.
Relevance: Relevant to the record of delivery at a development-stage gold project.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 38, 41; KGP development, executive additions and missed FID KPI); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-35)
Business failures and setbacks
FY2026 final-investment-decision target not met
FY2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold's 2026 annual report says the company KPI was to achieve a financial investment decision for Katanning; the KPI was not achieved and the board awarded no FY26 STI. The record attributes no individual cause. The company later announced a recommended acquisition by OceanaGold, subject to scheme process.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. This is an issuer-reported company outcome. Dorward and the FY26 KMP overlapped the period; the report does not establish personal causation. Other people either joined near/after the period or their responsibility is not shown.
Relevance: Relevant to delivery against stated company development milestones.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 41-42 and 38; KPI not achieved, no STI, transaction announcement context)
Environmental record
Environmental review and approvals remain ongoing
2025–2026 · documented · low materiality
The FY2026 annual report records that the Western Australian EPA authorised the Katanning Environmental Review Document for public release in mid-July 2026, while the works approval application remained under assessment. The federal EPBC portal also lists the project assessment and avoidance areas. These are ongoing approval steps and proposed impacts, not evidence of an environmental breach. The annual report states directors were not aware of a material breach of applicable environmental legislation during FY26.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Project-level regulatory status; no individual responsibility for the proposed impact/approval decision is established.
Relevance: Material to oversight of a proposed mine, but no breach finding is documented.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 35, environmental regulation statement); Ausgold – Katanning Gold Project EPBC 2025/10232 referral summary (lines 55-57 and project decision list, varied proposal and assessment records)
Governance and interests
Historical IFC review identified E&S system actions during Yaramoko construction
2015–2016 · documented · low materiality
IFC’s 2015 review of Roxgold’s Yaramoko project stated that multiple management plans, including OHS, emergency response, waste and environmental controls, were being finalized and that additional EHS capacity was to be engaged. At that review point, it also reported no significant incidents since operations began. Dorward’s CEO tenure overlapped project construction. These are project-level oversight facts, not proof of his personal fault or a finding of breach.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. The IFC source assigns responsibility to Roxgold’s company/site management structure; it does not name Dorward as responsible for the specific action plan or record misconduct.
Relevance: Relevant as a due-diligence context for prior project oversight; no personal adverse finding is established.
Yaramoko Environmental and Social Review Summary (lines 325-343, 372-389)
Suitability for the current role
Relevant experience for current role
Career through 2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
Dated issuer disclosures describe an international finance/resources executive, prior project-finance role, Roxgold leadership, project construction and the Fronteer transaction. These are relevant to executive oversight of a development-stage gold project and corporate financing. Career outcomes are largely issuer-reported; no education registry verification was located.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. This is a role-fit inference from cited issuer/secondary biography evidence; it does not assign causation for prior employer results.
Relevance: Experience in finance, governance, operations or project delivery maps to the role described in the selected roster.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 32, qualifications and biography)
Evidence gaps
-
No independent education verification or complete primary-source dated chronology of all earlier roles was located. Historical Yaramoko E&S review is project-level and does not establish personal responsibility.
-
Ausgold had not achieved KGP FID by the cutoff; public sources do not establish any one executive as the cause. The annual report records environmental approvals remained in progress.