Full background report
Mark Mitchell
Chief Operating Officer
Career chronology
-
1 February 2025–cutoff: Ausgold Limited — Chief Operating Officer. 2025 Annual Report (pp. 29, 36; appointed 1 February 2025); Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 43; current COO and employment terms)
-
Earlier; dates not stated: Newcrest Mining — General Manager – Telfer; General Manager – Hidden Valley. 2025 Annual Report (p. 29)
-
Earlier; date not stated: Mount Gibson Iron — Chief Operating Officer. 2025 Annual Report (p. 29)
-
Earlier; date not stated: Mineral Resources — Executive General Manager – Wodgina. 2025 Annual Report (p. 29)
-
Earlier; exact title and dates not disclosed in the opened annual report section: Ambatovy — Senior operating/project role. 2025 Annual Report (p. 29)
Education and qualifications
Education and professional qualification evidence
Qualifications as reported through cutoff · issuer reported · low materiality
Official current issuer biography search result identifies chemical engineering, First Class Honours, University of New South Wales and AUSIMM membership; undated issuer page means independent verification and historical credential dates remain gaps.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The listed qualifications are reported in issuer material or the identified secondary profile; no independent credential verification was completed.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to evaluating role fit and executive experience.
2025 Annual Report (p. 29; COO appointment and experience); Board & Management (undated issuer biography search result; qualification and membership)
Contributions and company outcomes
Documented current-company outcome and attribution limit
FY2025–2026 / appointment period · issuer reported · medium materiality
During FY26, Ausgold advanced the KGP DFS update, early works, engineering and permitting, but the board’s stated FY26 goal of achieving FID was missed; no FY26 STI was awarded. This period overlaps Mitchell’s COO role, but the company record does not attribute the delay to him. No operating mine outcome exists yet for his current employer.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Public materials document the company milestones and the person’s role or appointment, but do not establish sole individual causation.
Relevance: Relevant to the record of delivery at a development-stage gold project.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 38, 41; KGP development, executive additions and missed FID KPI); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-35)
Business failures and setbacks
FY2026 final-investment-decision target not met
FY2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold's 2026 annual report says the company KPI was to achieve a financial investment decision for Katanning; the KPI was not achieved and the board awarded no FY26 STI. The record attributes no individual cause. The company later announced a recommended acquisition by OceanaGold, subject to scheme process.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. This is an issuer-reported company outcome. Dorward and the FY26 KMP overlapped the period; the report does not establish personal causation. Other people either joined near/after the period or their responsibility is not shown.
Relevance: Relevant to delivery against stated company development milestones.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 41-42 and 38; KPI not achieved, no STI, transaction announcement context)
Environmental record
Environmental review and approvals remain ongoing
2025–2026 · documented · low materiality
The FY2026 annual report records that the Western Australian EPA authorised the Katanning Environmental Review Document for public release in mid-July 2026, while the works approval application remained under assessment. The federal EPBC portal also lists the project assessment and avoidance areas. These are ongoing approval steps and proposed impacts, not evidence of an environmental breach. The annual report states directors were not aware of a material breach of applicable environmental legislation during FY26.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Project-level regulatory status; no individual responsibility for the proposed impact/approval decision is established.
Relevance: Material to oversight of a proposed mine, but no breach finding is documented.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 35, environmental regulation statement); Ausgold – Katanning Gold Project EPBC 2025/10232 referral summary (lines 55-57 and project decision list, varied proposal and assessment records)
Suitability for the current role
Relevant experience for current role
Career through 2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
Annual reports describe prior COO, mine-general-management and project development roles, and the issuer page reports a chemical-engineering qualification. This experience is relevant to the COO role at a proposed open-pit gold mine moving toward construction. Exact employer dates and qualification were not independently verified.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. This is a role-fit inference from cited issuer/secondary biography evidence; it does not assign causation for prior employer results.
Relevance: Experience in finance, governance, operations or project delivery maps to the role described in the selected roster.
2025 Annual Report (p. 29; COO appointment and experience); Board & Management (undated issuer biography search result; qualification and membership)
Evidence gaps
-
Public dated sources reviewed do not provide a complete independently verifiable chronology of prior roles and delivered outcomes; dates are left approximate or unknown where not disclosed.
-
Ausgold had not achieved KGP FID by the cutoff; public sources do not establish any one executive as the cause. The annual report records environmental approvals remained in progress.