Full background report
Reece Olney
General Manager Operations
Career chronology
-
Appointed by 14 May 2026; exact commencement date not disclosed: Ausgold Limited — General Manager Operations, Katanning Gold Project. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 18-26); Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 13, 29; leadership appointments)
-
Most recent prior role; exact dates not disclosed: Fenix Resources — General Manager, Weld Range Project. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 24-26)
-
Over previous decade, per issuer appointment release; exact sites/dates not listed: Mount Gibson Iron — General Manager Operations roles at multiple mines. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 18-24)
Education and qualifications
Education and professional qualification evidence
Qualifications as reported through cutoff · issuer reported · low materiality
No degree or professional membership identified in the reviewed sources.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The listed qualifications are reported in issuer material or the identified secondary profile; no independent credential verification was completed.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to evaluating role fit and executive experience.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 18-26)
Contributions and company outcomes
Documented current-company outcome and attribution limit
FY2025–2026 / appointment period · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold hired Olney to support project development and lead operational-readiness planning. Appointment is not evidence of completed construction or production, neither of which had occurred by the cutoff.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Public materials document the company milestones and the person’s role or appointment, but do not establish sole individual causation.
Relevance: Relevant to the record of delivery at a development-stage gold project.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 38, 41; KGP development, executive additions and missed FID KPI); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-35)
Business failures and setbacks
FY2026 final-investment-decision target not met
FY2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold's 2026 annual report says the company KPI was to achieve a financial investment decision for Katanning; the KPI was not achieved and the board awarded no FY26 STI. The record attributes no individual cause. The company later announced a recommended acquisition by OceanaGold, subject to scheme process.
Attribution: Employer context; no individual link established. This is an issuer-reported company outcome. Dorward and the FY26 KMP overlapped the period; the report does not establish personal causation. Other people either joined near/after the period or their responsibility is not shown.
Relevance: Relevant to delivery against stated company development milestones.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 41-42 and 38; KPI not achieved, no STI, transaction announcement context)
Suitability for the current role
Relevant experience for current role
Career through 2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
The issuer describes over 30 years of multi-commodity mining experience across open-cut and underground operations, prior GM Operations roles at Mount Gibson and most recently GM Weld Range at Fenix. This is directly relevant to operational readiness; detailed site-by-site outcomes and qualifications are not public in the reviewed source.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. This is a role-fit inference from cited issuer/secondary biography evidence; it does not assign causation for prior employer results.
Relevance: Experience in finance, governance, operations or project delivery maps to the role described in the selected roster.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 18-26)
Evidence gaps
-
Public dated sources reviewed do not provide a complete independently verifiable chronology of prior roles and delivered outcomes; dates are left approximate or unknown where not disclosed.
-
The reviewed sources do not identify a degree or independently verifiable professional credential for this individual.