Full background report
John Sofield
Project Director
Career chronology
-
Appointed 9 June 2026–cutoff: Ausgold Limited — Project Director, Katanning Gold Project. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of Project Director (lines 4-13)
-
Most recent prior; end date not disclosed: BP — Commissioning Manager, Kwinana Oil Terminal. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of Project Director (lines 8-13)
-
Earlier; individual titles and dates not all disclosed in appointment release: South32; SO4 Potash; Covalent Lithium; Fortescue; BCI Minerals — Senior project delivery roles. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of Project Director (lines 8-13)
Education and qualifications
Education and professional qualification evidence
Qualifications as reported through cutoff · issuer reported · low materiality
No degree, engineering discipline or professional membership is specified in the reviewed appointment release.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The listed qualifications are reported in issuer material or the identified secondary profile; no independent credential verification was completed.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to evaluating role fit and executive experience.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of Project Director (lines 4-13)
Contributions and company outcomes
Documented current-company outcome and attribution limit
FY2025–2026 / appointment period · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold appointed Sofield to direct the Katanning project in June 2026. No subsequent construction completion or first production is documented at cutoff; planned work is not counted as delivered success.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Public materials document the company milestones and the person’s role or appointment, but do not establish sole individual causation.
Relevance: Relevant to the record of delivery at a development-stage gold project.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 38, 41; KGP development, executive additions and missed FID KPI); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-35)
Business failures and setbacks
FY2026 final-investment-decision target not met
FY2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold's 2026 annual report says the company KPI was to achieve a financial investment decision for Katanning; the KPI was not achieved and the board awarded no FY26 STI. The record attributes no individual cause. The company later announced a recommended acquisition by OceanaGold, subject to scheme process.
Attribution: Employer context; no individual link established. This is an issuer-reported company outcome. Dorward and the FY26 KMP overlapped the period; the report does not establish personal causation. Other people either joined near/after the period or their responsibility is not shown.
Relevance: Relevant to delivery against stated company development milestones.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 41-42 and 38; KPI not achieved, no STI, transaction announcement context)
Suitability for the current role
Relevant experience for current role
Career through 2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
The issuer reports more than 25 years in mining, resources and oil and gas, complex greenfield and brownfield project delivery and a recent commissioning role at BP’s Kwinana Oil Terminal. That experience aligns with project execution duties. Exact chronology, credentials and outcomes per employer remain gaps.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. This is a role-fit inference from cited issuer/secondary biography evidence; it does not assign causation for prior employer results.
Relevance: Experience in finance, governance, operations or project delivery maps to the role described in the selected roster.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of Project Director (lines 4-13)
Evidence gaps
-
Public dated sources reviewed do not provide a complete independently verifiable chronology of prior roles and delivered outcomes; dates are left approximate or unknown where not disclosed.
-
The reviewed sources do not identify a degree or independently verifiable professional credential for this individual.