Full background report
Ben Stockdale
Chief Executive Officer; Co-Company Secretary
Career chronology
-
CFO from 1 August 2024; CEO from 14 May 2026: Ausgold Limited — Chief Executive Officer; previously Chief Financial Officer. Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 40, 43; Co-Company Secretary appointment 9 October 2025 and CEO transition); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-14)
-
Most recent prior role before Ausgold, as described on the undated issuer page accessed at cutoff; exact dates not disclosed.: Sunrise Energy Metals Limited — Chief Financial Officer. Board & Management (undated leadership-page search result; current biography states most recently CFO at Sunrise Energy Metals)
-
More than 25 years experience; employers/role chronology not fully disclosed: Resources industry — Senior finance/commercial leadership. Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-14)
Education and qualifications
Education and professional qualification evidence
Qualifications as reported through cutoff · issuer reported · low materiality
No degree or professional qualification was identified in the issuer annual report or appointment release; qualification gap remains.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The listed qualifications are reported in issuer material or the identified secondary profile; no independent credential verification was completed.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to evaluating role fit and executive experience.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-14); Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35 and 43); Board & Management (undated leadership-page text)
Contributions and company outcomes
Documented current-company outcome and attribution limit
FY2025–2026 / appointment period · issuer reported · medium materiality
The board said he played an instrumental role in Ausgold progress during his CFO tenure, but this is issuer attribution. The FY2026 company KPI of reaching Katanning FID was not achieved and no STI was awarded. The missed target overlapped his time as CFO then CEO; the annual report does not assign individual cause. A$90m equity raising in FY26 supported development, but was a company financing outcome, not an individual-only achievement.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Public materials document the company milestones and the person’s role or appointment, but do not establish sole individual causation.
Relevance: Relevant to the record of delivery at a development-stage gold project.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35, 38, 41; KGP development, executive additions and missed FID KPI); Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-35)
Business failures and setbacks
FY2026 final-investment-decision target not met
FY2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Ausgold's 2026 annual report says the company KPI was to achieve a financial investment decision for Katanning; the KPI was not achieved and the board awarded no FY26 STI. The record attributes no individual cause. The company later announced a recommended acquisition by OceanaGold, subject to scheme process.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. This is an issuer-reported company outcome. Dorward and the FY26 KMP overlapped the period; the report does not establish personal causation. Other people either joined near/after the period or their responsibility is not shown.
Relevance: Relevant to delivery against stated company development milestones.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 41-42 and 38; KPI not achieved, no STI, transaction announcement context)
Environmental record
Environmental review and approvals remain ongoing
2025–2026 · documented · low materiality
The FY2026 annual report records that the Western Australian EPA authorised the Katanning Environmental Review Document for public release in mid-July 2026, while the works approval application remained under assessment. The federal EPBC portal also lists the project assessment and avoidance areas. These are ongoing approval steps and proposed impacts, not evidence of an environmental breach. The annual report states directors were not aware of a material breach of applicable environmental legislation during FY26.
Attribution: Employer context; no individual link established. Project-level regulatory status; no individual responsibility for the proposed impact/approval decision is established.
Relevance: Material to oversight of a proposed mine, but no breach finding is documented.
Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (p. 35, environmental regulation statement); Ausgold – Katanning Gold Project EPBC 2025/10232 referral summary (lines 55-57 and project decision list, varied proposal and assessment records)
Suitability for the current role
Relevant experience for current role
Career through 2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
Appointment materials report more than 25 years in resources, finance and commercial leadership, with corporate/project debt and equity financings, M&A and metals marketing/logistics. Those functions fit a developer preparing financing and project execution. Detailed chronology and qualifications remain undisclosed in the dated sources.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. This is a role-fit inference from cited issuer/secondary biography evidence; it does not assign causation for prior employer results.
Relevance: Experience in finance, governance, operations or project delivery maps to the role described in the selected roster.
Ausgold Strengthens Senior Leadership Team with Appointment of CEO and GM Operations (lines 10-14); Ausgold Annual Report 2026 (pp. 35 and 43); Board & Management (undated leadership-page text)
Evidence gaps
-
Public dated sources reviewed do not provide a complete independently verifiable chronology of prior roles and delivered outcomes; dates are left approximate or unknown where not disclosed.
-
The reviewed sources do not identify a degree or independently verifiable professional credential for this individual.
-
Ausgold had not achieved KGP FID by the cutoff; public sources do not establish any one executive as the cause. The annual report records environmental approvals remained in progress.