Full background report
Chris MacKinnon
Chief Financial Officer; Joint Company Secretary
Career chronology
-
Joined July 2020; CFO from March 2023; Joint Company Secretary from 20 February 2025: Chalice Mining Limited — Chief Financial Officer; Joint Company Secretary. Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7); Executive Leadership Team Appointments (Executive Leadership Team Appointments, pp. 1–2); Appointment of Joint Company Secretaries (Appointment of Joint Company Secretaries, p. 1)
-
Prior to Chalice; exact titles and dates not stated in issuer biographies: Carnarvon Petroleum and Australis Oil & Gas — Corporate finance and legal roles. Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7)
-
Prior to Carnarvon/Australis; exact dates not stated: Miro Advisors — Associate Director. Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7)
-
Prior to Miro Advisors; firm and dates not stated: National law firm — Legal practice. Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7)
Education and qualifications
Law, accounting and applied finance qualifications
As reported in 2026 · issuer reported · low materiality
Chalice reports LLB, Certified Practising Accountant qualification and Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance; the degree is from the University of Western Australia and the diploma from Kaplan. Independent verification was not completed.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. No personal responsibility question applies.
Relevance: Qualifications are relevant to CFO and statutory-disclosure responsibilities.
Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7); Executive Leadership Team Appointments (Executive Leadership Team Appointments, p. 1)
Industrial safety
Company-reported FY26 safety outcomes and near miss
FY2026 · issuer reported · low materiality
During FY26 Chalice reported no fatalities or lost-time injuries and one high-potential bushfire incident at Gonneville. The incident was described as likely deliberately lit near the site; no personnel were present and minimal damage occurred. No source reviewed connects MacKinnon personally to it.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. MacKinnon was CFO and KMP during FY26, but the disclosure does not assign him operational responsibility or individual causation.
Relevance: Limited governance/safety context only; no personal adverse inference is supported.
Annual Report 2026 (Health and Safety, pp. 43–44)
Suitability for the current role
Accountant and lawyer with resource-sector corporate finance experience
2020–2026 · analyst inference · medium materiality
Chalice reports MacKinnon’s progression from Business Development and Legal Manager (joined July 2020) to CFO in March 2023 and joint company secretary in February 2025. His earlier work included corporate finance and legal positions in energy and resources, investment banking and private legal practice. No independent employer-date verification was completed.
Attribution: Individual involvement documented. Appointment releases directly establish his role progression; prior employer details are issuer biographies.
Relevance: Experience and qualifications align with finance, disclosure and company-secretary responsibilities; the available chronology remains incomplete.
Annual Report 2026 (Our Leadership, p. 7); Executive Leadership Team Appointments (Executive Leadership Team Appointments, pp. 1–2); Appointment of Joint Company Secretaries (Appointment of Joint Company Secretaries, p. 1)
Evidence gaps
-
Prior employer dates and full legal practice identity remain unspecified.
-
CPA membership status and academic credentials have not been independently verified.
-
The safety disclosure does not allocate responsibility to the CFO; no person-specific safety or environment check is exhaustive.
-
Person-specific ASIC, court, sanctions, criminal-record and professional-disciplinary checks were not completed.
-
No independent review of the company’s reported financial and project outcomes attributable to the CFO was conducted.