Full background report
Lucas Dow
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
Career chronology
-
3 July 2024–current: Elevra Lithium — Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer. Elevra Annual Report 2026 (PDF p.48, term of office); Our People (Senior Management listing)
-
14 February 2024–3 July 2024: Sayona Mining — Non-Executive Director. Elevra Annual Report 2026 (PDF p.48, term of office)
-
April 2018–July 2020 (CEO; later board role, end date not stated): Adani Mining / Adani Australia — Chief Executive Officer; later non-executive director. 2019 Central Regional Forum program: Lucas Dow biography (2019 forum program, Lucas Dow biography); Adani boss abruptly quits, with mine still a year away (10 July 2020 report, paragraphs 2-5)
-
Before April 2018: BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance and South32 — CEO / Asset President BMA; VP Operations and Director South32 (sequence and dates not independently resolved). 2019 Central Regional Forum program: Lucas Dow biography (2019 forum program, Lucas Dow biography)
-
Earlier career; dates not stated: BHP and other coal operations — Early operational and management roles; employer chronology not stated. 2019 Central Regional Forum program: Lucas Dow biography (2019 forum program, Lucas Dow biography)
Contributions and company outcomes
Carmichael approvals and early construction during Adani tenure
2018–2020 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Adani told The New Daily that Dow's leadership reshaped the project, achieved final approvals and completed its first critical 12 months of construction. The same report states he left in July 2020 while the mine remained about a year from production. The project was therefore not an operating outcome delivered during his CEO tenure.
Attribution: Individual involvement documented. The report quotes the former employer's statement and independently describes project timing; it does not establish Dow's share of the result beyond the CEO role.
Relevance: Shows project-permitting and construction-stage experience; operating delivery after his exit is not attributed to him.
Adani boss abruptly quits, with mine still a year away (10 July 2020, paragraphs 4-8)
Business failures and setbacks
FY26 production and cost scorecard was below target
FY26 ended 30 June 2026 · issuer reported · medium materiality
Elevra's Board scorecard says NAL production of 197,967 dmt was 2.5% below its business target and average unit operating cost per tonne sold was 3.1% higher than target. The same scorecard reports US$19m annualised merger synergies and completion of the project development strategy. These are company outcomes during Dow's CEO tenure; the Board separately assessed his individual outcome at 100%.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. Dow was CEO; the Board scorecard reports business performance but does not assign specific operational causes to him.
Relevance: Relevant to CEO accountability; Board incentive assessment is disclosed as an issuer judgment and is not independent proof of personal contribution.
Elevra Annual Report 2026 (PDF pp.72-73, FY26 business scorecard and STI outcomes)
Industrial safety
Recordable injuries rose in the first FY27 quarter
September 2026 quarter · issuer reported · medium materiality
The September 2026 quarterly report records six recordable injuries, including a number of musculoskeletal injuries; the company found no common causal factor and said it was reinforcing coaching, visible field leadership and critical-risk controls. Dow was CEO during the quarter, but no injury or causal failure is linked to him personally.
Attribution: Role overlaps event; causation unproven. CEO tenure overlaps; operational safety response is described at site/company level, with no person-specific causal finding.
Relevance: Current leadership risk indicator after FY26 safety improvement; not an individual misconduct finding.
September 2026 Quarterly Activities Report (PDF pp.3-4, management commentary and Health and Safety)
Governance and interests
Queensland Parliament allegation about Carmichael job estimates
March–October 2019 · alleged · medium materiality
A member alleged that Dow misled a parliamentary committee about projected jobs. Dow proactively supplied an explanation and supporting material. The Speaker concluded the explanation was adequate and did not refer the matter to the Ethics Committee. This is an allegation with a stated non-referral outcome, not a finding of misconduct.
Attribution: Individual involvement documented. Dow was Adani CEO and was named as the witness; the Speaker's ruling did not find deliberate misleading and closed the issue at that stage.
Relevance: Relevant to candour and disclosure judgment in an executive public hearing, with the formal outcome preserved.
Queensland Parliament Hansard — Speaker's ruling on alleged misleading of committee (PDF pp.3090-3091, Speaker's ruling)
Public discussion of Carmichael capacity differed from the 10Mt construction plan
2019 · documented · medium materiality
ABC reported a video of Dow at a 2019 political fundraiser saying Adani was permitted to export up to 60Mt and could expand. Adani said it was building a 10Mt-per-year mine while approvals allowed 60Mt and the railway's initial capacity was 40Mt. This is a documented public communications issue; the article does not establish a breach or unlawful conduct.
Attribution: Individual involvement documented. The article identifies Dow as Adani CEO and quotes him, while also presenting Adani's response and the approved-versus-planned distinction.
Relevance: Relevant to transparency and stakeholder trust; context is the divergence between permitted capacity and then-current build plan.
Adani executive Lucas Dow talks up bigger coal mine in leaked video at LNP fundraising event (19 March 2020 report, paragraphs 4-12)
Suitability for the current role
Mining engineering and operating leadership background
Current; prior roles before July 2024 · analyst inference · medium materiality
The annual report records a mining engineering honours degree and hands-on mining and renewables experience. A 2019 Engineers Australia program describes earlier BMA CEO/asset-president and South32 operations/director roles. Relevant background is supported, though the career chronology and degree were not independently verified.
Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. The issuer supplies the current biography; the Engineers Australia event program supplies earlier role descriptions, not independent employment verification.
Relevance: Relevant operating and project leadership experience for a North American lithium producer and developer.
Elevra Annual Report 2026 (PDF p.48, qualifications and experience); 2019 Central Regional Forum program: Lucas Dow biography (2019 forum program, Lucas Dow biography)
Evidence gaps
-
No independent verification of university qualification, complete employment dates, references, or full operational outcomes at BHP, BMA, South32 or Adani was located.
-
FY26 individual performance score is a Board assessment; it is not an independent measure of personal causality.
-
Public searches were indexed-web and selected government records, not an exhaustive criminal, sanctions, litigation, or regulatory-register check.