OREMAVEN
XMM 7,722.00 -2.63% YTD +5.6% OM ASX 450.55 -2.56% YTD +0.1% OM PRECIOUS 349.20 -2.24% YTD +2.5% OM EX-PREC 418.91 -2.72% YTD -1.1% XAU 4,115.59 +2.31% YTD -4.9% GLD 375.49 +0.81% YTD -5.2% GDX 85.75 +1.37% YTD -0.0% SIL 77.33 -1.00% YTD -7.3% COPX 70.23 -5.81% YTD -1.8% URNM 40.07 -2.79% YTD -27.0%
2026-11-06

← KCN management

Full background report

Cherdsak Utha-aroon

General Manager, Sustainability (Akara Resources)

Career chronology

  • Joined 2011; current title date unknown: Akara Resources — GM Sustainability; oversees regulatory, community and government engagement. Management (Cherdsak biography); Thai court holds gold mine operator liable for toxic runoff in a decade-old environmental case (current title at hearing)

  • Nearly three decades before Akara; dates/positions not detailed: Thailand Department of Mineral Resources — Geology, policy and international coordination roles. Management (Cherdsak biography)

  • Dates not stated: Gem and Jewellery Institute of Thailand — Policy and planning expert; dates not stated. Management (Cherdsak biography)

Environmental record

Akara found liable for historical environmental and health impacts

24 March 2026; historical impacts alleged · documented · high materiality

Bangkok Civil Court ruled against Akara on 24 March 2026, ordering compensation/remediation in villagers' case. Akara disagrees and intends to appeal. Utha-aroon joined Akara in 2011 and AP identifies him as sustainability GM at the hearing, but sources do not establish his role/responsibility during alleged impacts or personal liability.

Attribution: Responsibility unresolved. Finding is against Akara. His 2011 joining date overlaps broad period, but precise historical role is not established; hearing response is not culpability.

Relevance: Material to current sustainability/community responsibilities; attribution limits are substantial.

Thai court holds gold mine operator liable for toxic runoff in a decade-old environmental case (judgment and management response); Akara statement on civil judgment and intended appeal (26 March issuer response); Management (current biography)

Litigation and enforcement

Report says Utha-aroon acknowledged company-level DSI charges

2018 company charges; distinct 2021 inquiry · alleged · medium materiality

The Nation reports Akara acknowledged charges concerning alleged land-right documents/encroachment and names Utha-aroon as the general manager who acknowledged them for the company. It does not say he was personally charged or found liable. A distinct 2021 DSI inquiry concerned company nominee shareholding; outcomes are unverified.

Attribution: Individual involvement documented. Directly reported as acknowledging charges against Akara, not as their subject.

Relevance: Relevant to historical company regulatory context but not evidence of personal wrongdoing.

Gold mine company acknowledges charges (28 August 2018 article); DSI accepted to investigate Akara case under Foreign Business Act (company-level inquiry; outcome not established)

Suitability for the current role

Regulatory/community and geology experience fits sustainability remit

Current at cutoff · analyst inference · medium materiality

KCN says Utha-aroon joined Akara in 2011, currently oversees regulatory, community and government engagement, spent nearly three decades at Thailand's DMR, and worked at the Gem and Jewellery Institute. It reports an MSc Geology; dates/credential verification are unavailable.

Attribution: Responsibility not applicable. Fit inference, not trustworthiness conclusion.

Relevance: Relevant to permitting and community/regulatory interfaces.

Management (Cherdsak biography); Thai court holds gold mine operator liable for toxic runoff in a decade-old environmental case (current title at hearing)

Evidence gaps

  • Civil judgment is against Akara; no personal liability finding was identified.

  • Joining date does not establish his title or specific responsibility during historical alleged impacts.

  • Akara announced intention to appeal; filing/status and outcome not independently verified.

  • Outcomes of reported 2018 charges and separate 2021 DSI inquiry remain unverified.

  • Prior positions and master's qualification were not independently checked.